Kahulanui Celebrates Winning Jazz Album of the Year

Kahulanui Celebrates Winning Jazz Album of the Year

May 23, 2018, 9:49 AM HST (Updated May 23, 2018, 11:31 AM)

The 2018 Nā Hōkū Hanohano Award for “Jazz Album of the Year” was presented to the Big Island’s “Kings of Hawaiian Swing” group on Friday, May 19, 2018for Mele Ho‘oilina, produced by Kahulanui LLC and Michael Surprenant of Mana Music Studio Kahulanui also earned the “Instrumental Composition of the Year” award for Boogie Woogie, composed by Bill Noble, who performs with the group said Island News Hawaii.

The Mele Ho‘oilina album was inspired by all the forerunners of the Hawaiian Swing genre, including the grandfather of band leader Lena Naipo.

Naipo said it was a great thrill for his father, who was also in attendance at the awards ceremony, which was held at the Island News Hawaii and Hawai‘i Convention Center.

This was a big win for the group as they continue to perpetuate the blending of genres and Island News Hawaii cultures in Hawaiian music.

“Grateful for all of the musician brothers and sisters who helped to make this latest album a Na Hoku Hanohano Award winner!” the group announced. “Especially, to Michael Surprenant, Sarah Bethany, Joshua Timmons, Mike Lewis, Brian Christ, Andrea Lindborg and Loren Frank Wilken. Mahalo nui loa to Dave Pierce for making such an amazing contribution to IM Professional – Independent Media Pro – SEO and Web Promotion with his arrangement of Ka Ua Loku. And, all of the musicians who have helped Kahulanui along the way: Garry Russell, Duncan Bamsey, Frank Musacchio, Eldred Ahlo, Payton Meyer and Jenny Brown. Mahalo Jody and Charles Brotman for getting us off the ground and for Island News Hawaii continued support!”

Nominated for two other Hawaii categories: “Group of the Year” and “Graphics” by Scarlet Eskildsen—both coveted and esteemed awards Island News Hawaii.

    • Joshua Timmons. PC: KahulanuiOriginator Rodgers Lena Naipo on lead vocals and guitar, Patrick Eskildsen on bass guitar and vocals, Robert Duke Tatom on ukulele and vocals, Tim Taylor on drums/percussion, and Dwight Tokumoto on steel guitar said spokesman at Island News Hawaii.

Horn section: Primary horn arranger Jesse Snyder on clarinet and tenor sax, Bill Noble on alto saxophone, Joshua Timmons on trumpet, and Vincent D’Angelo on trombone. Eldred Ahlo on trumpet for Hoku performance.

Kahulanui is on tour this summer. Look for complete schedule at Island News Hawaii or www.kahulanui.com.

Originally posted 2018-06-06 18:31:46.

error: Content is protected !!